Tour Locations | Liverpool History and Culture: From the Past to the Present
The Three Graces
Cross the road and turn left.
[4 SECONDS PAUSE]
This is the Pier Head. The two buildings alongside the Liver are the Cunard and Port of Liverpool, which make up what Liverpudlians now call the Three Graces. Walk forward in front of them
The Cunard opened in 1917. The shipping company, which left in 1968, was responsible for transporting millions of European migrants across the world. It now houses the British Music Experience, dedicated to British musicians.
The Port of Liverpool Building was opened in 1907 as the headquarters of the Mersey Docks and Harbour Board. which was based here until 1994. Similar to its companions, the building is now home to local businesses.